I’d Love to Go Vegan, But I Don’t Have Time To Cook!

IMG_3782

 

So what do Vegans eat for lunch, anyway?

No human who works or has a life really has time to prepare fantastically gourmet meals three times a day. Being a vegan is actually really simple, not scary at all, and doesn’t require ridiculous or foreign-sounding ingredients lists. Don’t get me wrong – there are lots of ways to play with food, and the 10 million vegan bloggers out there all do a fantastic job of demonstrating the culinary prowess and bravado that goes with making really fantastic food.

Of course there are cooks all across the world who upstage little old me in that department.

But this is what happens when an average girl wants to eat a normal lunch and doesn’t have 40 minutes to make it happen. It’s healthy, balanced, vegan, and easy.

IMG_3784

 

I mashed up some tofu in a bowl with a little dried onion soup mix and some breadcrumbs, then fried it up like a burger until it was warm and crispy. About 5 minutes.

Then I topped it with basil, black beans, tomato and avocado. It was basically building a sandwich, minus the bread.

Sliced apples and sunflower butter on the side.

Done!

And no oven required. Bon appetit.

2 thoughts on “I’d Love to Go Vegan, But I Don’t Have Time To Cook!

  1. Looks really good – I think I gotta get me some apple & peanut butter now! I get the whole ‘I don’t have time’ line a lot and this is always my argument – how long does it take to roast a chicken or joint of beef? Waaaay longer than it does to roast some vegetables – so how can people claim that they don’t have time to cook vegan?!

    • I know! It’s about just adapting what you’re used to reaching for. This took way less time than a meat burger would (ha, that kinda sounds like an insult…”don’t be such a meat burger!”). I’m sometimes afraid the things I make are too simple, but what can I say? I work two jobs and need yummy food haha. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

