Vegan Chocolate Cake

IMG_3479

Let’s talk about cake, baby.

As a vegan, the number one thing I have difficulty with is dessert. (Most) dark chocolate is thankfully a-ok, but when it comes to grab and go options, pretty much every pre-made dessert on the planet includes dairy. As more of a cook than a baker, this saddens me deeply.

However, necessity is the mother of invention so naturally I took to google and found me a recipe. Posted by aliciak on instructables.com, it might be the best chocolate cake I’ve ever made. And I like my cake like I like my men – rich, dark, and freakin delicious.

This is the third time I’ve made this cake, and they’ve all turned out fantastic (even the second one, when still drunk from the night before I forgot to add the flour and turned it into a “torte”).

It’s moist, decadent, rich, and she even includes a glaze recipe that knocks it outta the park. Or, you can be like me and skip it all together because like I said, I’m lazy like that.

The best part – we’re vegan, which means we can eat the batter.

Vegan Chocolate Cake

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup warm water
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp distilled white or apple cider vinegar

Method

Put it all in a mixer, and mix. That’s literally how I did it.

Serving suggestion: in your mouth, all at once.

Bon appetit.

One thought on “Vegan Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

